2021 Youth/Junior Worlds Team Announced

by Bill Kellick

2020 Youth/Junior Worlds Team
Team USA is pictured at last year's IBU Youth/Junior World Championships (photo by Jeffrey Leopold)

NEW GLOUCESTER, Maine (Feb. 3, 2021) – The U.S. Biathlon International Competition Committee has announced the 2021 Youth (U19) and Junior (U21) Biathlon World Championship Team. The 16-member squad will compete at the IBU Youth/Junior World Championships taking place in Obertilliach, Austria, Feb. 27-Mar. 6.

At last year’s event, Maxime Germain (Anchorage, Alaska/Anchorage Biathlon Club) captured the bronze medal in the youth men’s sprint and the U.S. team qualified 10 athletes for the pursuit races. Germain is not competing this season as he is attending Basic Training with the National Guard.

"In a year when I was not sure if there would be any international racing, I am thrilled that this talented group of athletes will have a chance to compete at Youth/Junior World Championships,” said U.S. Biathlon Director of Athlete Development Tim Burke. “With a solid mix of veterans and newcomers, I’m excited for this team to build on last year’s championships’ success. It’s also a great opportunity for this group to gain international racing experience, which will allow them the best chance of success for next season’s home Youth/Junior Worlds in Soldier Hollow.”

Named to the U.S. roster for the 2021 IBU Youth/Junior World Championships in Obertilliach, Austria, were the following athletes:

Junior Women
Sarah Beaulieu (Fort Fairfield, Maine/Sugar Bowl Academy)
Helen Wilson (Eagle River, Alaska/Anchorage Biathlon Club)
Jackie Garso (Lake Clear, N.Y./Auburn Ski Club)
Ariana Woods (Bozeman, Mont./Crosscut Mountain Sports)

Junior Men
Vincent Bonacci (Salt Lake City, Utah/Crosscut Mountain Sports)
Vaclav Cervenka 
(Grand Rapids, Minn./National Guard Biathlon/Mt. Itasca)
Lars Hammernes Leopold (Truckee, Calif./Asker Ski Club)
Bjorn Westervelt (Stowe, Vt./Craftsbury Biathlon Club/UVM)

Youth Women
Sidney Bennion (Midway, Utah/Team Soldier Hollow/PCSS)
Maja Lapkass (Anchorage, Alaska/Anchorage Biathlon Club/APU)
Lexie Madigan (Truckee, Calif./Auburn Ski Club)

Hannah Chipman (Fort Kent, Maine/Fort Kent Outdoor Center/Ford Sayre Nordic)


Youth Men
Etienne Bordes 
(Tahoe City, Calif./Auburn Ski Club)
Wes Campbell (Park City, Utah/Team Soldier Hollow/PCSS)
Sam Stertz (Grand Rapids, Minn./Mt. Itasca Biathlon Club)
Cale Woods (Bozeman, Mont./Crosscut Mountain Sports)

About Us

  • About U.S. Biathlon
  • History of U.S. Biathlon
  • Hall of Fame
  • U.S. Biathlon Foundation
  • Membership
  • Our Partners
USA Biathlon and US Olympic & Paralympic Committee Logo
  • Accessibility
  • Site Map
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Financials
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy

© 2023 United States Biathlon Association - All Rights Reserved.