by Sara Donatello

New Gloucester, Maine - The United States Biathlon Association released the selected members of the National Team for the upcoming 2023-2024 season.


National A Team


Sean Doherty (Center Conway, NH / National Guard Biathlon)



Deedra Irwin (Pulaski, WI / National Guard Biathlon)



Joanne Reid (Grand Junction, CO)

Jake Brown (St. Paul, MN / Craftsbury Green Racing Project)

Maxime Germain (Anchorage, AK / National Guard Biathlon)

Paul Schommer (Appleton, WI / Team Crosscut)


National B Team

Vincent Bonacci (Salt Lake City, UT / Team Crosscut)

Chloe Levins (Rutland, VT)

Vaclav Cervenka (Grand Rapids, MN / National Guard Biathlon)

Bjorn Westervelt (Stowe, VT / University of Vermont)


The National Team is coached by U.S. Biathlon National Team Head Coach, Armin Auchentaller, and Assistant Coach, Emil Bormetti. Both Auchentaller and Bormetti are heading into their second season coaching the National Team.


“I am excited to work with this team,” said Armin Auchentaller, U.S. Biathlon National Team Head Coach. “I hope to continue to develop the program over the next two seasons and into the 2026 Olympic Winter Games.”


“We are extremely excited for the coming training season and the several new faces on the National Team roster as well as our top athletes from the last few years,” said Lowell Bailey, U.S. Biathlon Director of High Performance. “This team is a great mix of new talent and veteran experience - a combination that is sure to pay off in the training environment and the winter season to come.”


*Please note that the team naming is subject to change pending final board approval.